January 24, 2016 concert at National Sawdust

In Nunc’s only New York event this season, Nunc will perform a concert on January 24, 2016, 7pm at National Sawdust in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. This state-of-the-art venue just opened in October 2015. The Nunc show on January 24 features stringed instruments, both bowed and plucked, along with the distinctive sounds of the oboe, bassoon and the soprano voice. There will be two world premieres – a sextet by Argentine composer Diego Tedesco and a piece for voice and string trio by Jonathan Dawe, featuring soprano Mary Mackenzie – and the New York premiere of a string octet by David Fulmer. Also: Elliott Carter’s “Four Lauds” for violin, Michael Jarrell’s “Eco III” for soprano and harp, and Iannis Xenakis’ “Aroura” for 12 strings,  involving remarkable NYC musicians and college students from Mannes and Juilliard.
Ticket link here

Program notes and bios here

Mary Mackenzie, soprano
June Han, harp
Joseph Brent, mandolin
Arthur Sato, oboe
Brad Balliett, bassoon
Miranda Cuckson, violin and director
Christopher Otto, violin
Yuri Namkung, violin
Mengyi Cao, violin
Isabel Ong, violin
Clare Semes, violin
Jeremias Sergiani Velasquez, violin
John Pickford Richards, viola
Melissa Reardon, viola
Jacob Shack, viola
Julia Bruskin, cello
Chris Gross, cello
Christine Chen, cello
Doug Balliett, bass
David Fulmer, conductor

Jonathan Dawe: “Roventi” for soprano and string trio (2015, premiere)
David Fulmer: “Silence of the Sirens” for string octet (2015, NY prem.)
Elliott Carter: “Four Lauds” for violin (1984-2001)
Michael Jarrell: “Eco III” for soprano and harp (1994)
Diego Tedesco:  “Divertimento II” for violin with bass, oboe, bassoon, harp, mandolin (2015, premiere)
Iannis Xenakis: “Aroura” for 12 strings (1971)


Mary Mackenzie

00000008 (1)

June Han

David Fulmer Portrait 1

David Fulmer


Joe Brent

Diego Tedesco

Diego Tedesco